Executive team

Justin Sampson

Chief Executive

Justin’s formative experience of media research was from the perspective of a media owner. A long stint at the Radio Advertising Bureau was followed by a move into television when he joined ITV in 2004. Prior to joining BARB in 2012, he spent six years working with a wide range of clients in research agency roles. For much of this time, his major client was BARB.

justin.sampson@barb.co.uk

 

Simon Bolus

Research Director

Simon started at BARB as Research Manager in 2003 and was appointed Research Director in 2010. Before joining BARB, he held roles within commercial television broadcasters and advertising and media agencies. Over fifteen years he gathered considerable experience in media audience research, including as a user of BARB data.
simon.bolus@barb.co.uk

 

Joe Lewis

Deputy Research Director

Joe has worked in media research since 2004 and has developed a specialist knowledge in media audience measurement. Following university, Joe worked at the Office for National Statistics as a government statistician before joining AGB Nielsen to work on the BARB service in 2004. Since then he’s worked for GfK NOP helping run their cross media and appreciation services. He joined BARB in the summer of 2010.
joe.lewis@barb.co.uk

 

Sonja Ajdin

Research Manager

Sonja joined BARB in 2015 as a Research Manager. Having worked across all three major measurement surveys, Sonja developed a wide range of research skills. After completing her MA in Media, Sonja worked at Ipsos MORI on NRS and RAJAR contracts focusing on fieldwork performance. Following that, she joined RSMB where she was responsible for analysing BARB data as well as reporting on viewing trends to the Audience Monitoring Committee.
sonja.ajdin@barb.co.uk

 

Paul Smith

Project Manager

Paul joined BARB in 2015 after 15 years at ABC, where he gained wide experience of setting, testing and defining Internet census measurement and process standards for numerous clients across a range of areas, including web and video analytics, brand safety and online advertising. He is bringing this experience to bear in refining the player measurement that feeds into Project Dovetail. Paul is also advising BARB on other aspects of Web measurement.
paul.smith@barb.co.uk

 

Sarah Espino

Research Co-Ordinator

Sarah joined BARB in 2010 as a Research Co-ordinator. Prior to that, she worked at AGB Nielsen Media Research where she spent 3 years in the Client Services department providing bespoke and ad hoc reports to a range of clients as well as being responsible for analysing and quality checking daily BARB data.
sarah.espino@barb.co.uk

 

Sarah Mowbray

Client Services Manager

Sarah’s experience of media research began when she took the role of graduate media planner at Universal McCann. She then joined Granada (now ITV) and sold television sponsorship. Both roles required analysis of BARB data. For the last 10 years Sarah has been at BARB where she is responsible for client relations, working with both new and existing clients.
sarah.mowbray@barb.co.uk

 

Charlotte Martin

Communications Executive

charlotte.martin@barb.co.uk

 

Nigel McLachlan

Finance Director

nigel.mclachlan@barb.co.uk

 

Jane Parsons

PA to Chief Executive and Finance Director

jane.parsons@barb.co.uk

 

Geoff Snell

Accounts Administrator

geoff.snell@barb.co.uk